Introduction of Aluminum Alloy

Introduction of Aluminum Alloy

The serial number of aluminum alloy is mainly divided into eight series. International trademark (using four Arabic numerals, now commonly used expression methods):
1xxx means the product contains more than 99% pure aluminum, such as: 1050, 1100
2XXX means aluminum-copper alloy series, such as: 2014
3XXX means aluminum-manganese alloy series, such as: 3003
4XXX means aluminum-silicon alloy series, such as: 4032
5XXX means aluminum-magnesium alloy series, such as: 5052
6XXX means aluminum-magnesium-silicon alloy series, such as: 6061, 6063
7XXX means aluminum-zinc alloy series, such as: 7001
According to the processing method, aluminum alloy can be divided into forged and rolled aluminum alloy, and cast aluminum alloy:

1. Wrought Aluminum Alloy

Wrought aluminum alloy is suitable for rolling, extrusion, forging, stamping and other processing. Due to the different proportions of the main alloy elements, there are different physical, chemical, mechanical properties and application ranges. They can be divided into two categories according to the strength level:
※ Non-heat-treated aluminum alloy: includes 1000, 3000, 4000, 5000 series, which mainly rely on solid solution strengthening, strain (processed) hardening and dispersion strengthening to achieve the strengthening effect. This type of alloy has medium and low strength, of which 5000 series (Al- Mg) has good corrosion resistance, weldability and workability, and its strength is higher than 3000 series (Al-Mn) and 4000 series (Al-Si), but it does not reach 400Mpa.
※Heat-treated aluminum alloy: including 2000, 6000, 7000 series, mainly by precipitation strengthening, 7000 series (Al-Zn-Mg, Al-Zn-Mg-Cu) has the highest strength, such as 7055 T7751 up to 660Mpa, 2000 series (Al-Cu, Al-Cu-Mg, Al-Cu-Mg-Si) is in the second place, while the 6000 series (Al-Mg-Si) has the lowest strength. Among them, 6063 aluminum alloy has good extrudability, ductility, Corrosion resistance and easy surface treatment (such as anodizing) are the most common.

2. Cast Aluminum Alloy

Casting aluminum alloys can be divided into two major systems: general castings and die castings, and general castings can be divided into three categories: sand molds, metal molds and precision castings. According to the American AA specification, cast aluminum alloys can be divided into 1xx-9xx series according to the type of alloy added. For the most common Al-Si alloy, the tensile strength is very high at 300-350MPa (depending on the Cu content). Cast aluminum alloys have relatively high strength in the 2xx (Al-Cu) and 7xx (Al-Zn) series, and the tensile strength of aluminum-copper alloys can reach about 400MPa.

Source: Taiwan Light Metal Association, kknews

社群分享 Social Sare
Scroll to Top